The Grand Vizier’s Duty

The usurper sits on the throne with a regal air. He is fit for the throne, the grand vizier thought, no doubt about that. But is he fit to rule? I wonder…

The usurper’s words bring him to the present.

“Have you seen to the executions, vizier?”

“I have, your grace,” replies the grand vizier smoothly, “and might I add that the list you provided was very thorough. I wouldn’t have thought to include the master of horses, but the…”

“I’ve been meaning to add another name to the list,” the usurper cuts in, “Can you guess who?”

“I believe I can, your grace.”

“Can you now? Name him.”

“Me.”

A half-smile appears on the usurper’s lips.

“So you know,” he says in a low voice, “but then again, I had heard of your intellect from as far as beyond the sea.”

“I was sure you had, your grace.”

“So the fact that you haven’t fled suggests that you have a plan.”

“A plan already implemented into action,” said the vizier looking straight into the usurper’s eyes.

“Let’s hear it then.”

“It relies heavily on your intellect, my lord. You see the first and foremost duty of the grand vizier has always been to plot against the king. The kings of old believed this keeps them alert and ready.”

“So I might have disrupted many a plan, by my untimely attack on the former king,” says the usurper with a sneer.

“Not at all. You arrived exactly when I planned. You were my plan.”

“That’s….” begins the usurper but then stops.

“Your intellect, your grace.”

He sees the light of understanding in the usurper’s eyes. Oh, yes. He is fit to rule after all.

Leave a comment